nus awards

NUS Awards 2008 – Winners

The NUS Awards 2008 were held on Monday night, hosted by John Sergeant.

Congratulations to all the winners on the night.  They were, as follows:

Endsleigh Student of the Year

  • Laura Sterling – The University of Birmingham Guild of Students

[Laura is Community Action Officer for Birmingham’s Guild of Students.  She is involved in the activities of students in the local community and reducing any negative feeling associated with students in the area.]

Student Unionist of the Year

  • Tobin Webb – University of Bristol Students’ Union

Tobin Webb

[Tobin (pictured above) is UBU President.  For more information on his role, check this article in Epigram Online, Bristol University’s student paper.]

Course Representative of the Year

  • Thomas Gyr and Timur Jan Pinar – Northumbria Students’ Union

Thomas and Timur win as School Reps for the School of Design at Northumbria.  The Students’ Union explains all the hard work they have done.

Participation Award

As stated on their site:

“The award recognises the fabulous work your Executive Officers and Representatives have done over the past year to increase your participation in the Students’ Union, including: the biggest student elections in the country, reforms to the JCR system, and great plans for a new Student Volunteer Centre to launch in September.”

Campaign of the Year

FE Students’ Union of the Year

One of the judges for this award was Lynne Sedgmore, CEO for the Centre of Excellence in Leadership.  She said of Derby College SU:

The work of Derby College Student Union is clearly outstanding. In particular, the thoroughness, honesty and scope of their impact assessment is exemplary. Their community engagement, international work and student advice centres alongside their online training for course reps, for me was the deciding factor in picking them as the winners.”

HE Students’ Union of the Year

Mark Willoughby - Sheffield

Mark Willoughby (pictured above) is chuffed about this award.  After all, he is President of Sheffield’s Union.  He gives the lowdown here on his blog.

Equality and Diversity Award

Students’ Union Publication of the Year

Student Journalist of the Year

  • Matthew Holehouse (Oxford University Students’ Union)